Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Phillips Honoured at Football League Awards

20 April 2015

Former Striker Receives Sir Tom Finney Award

Former Blackpool striker Kevin Phillips was honoured with the prestigious Sir Tom Finney Award at The Football League Awards last night.

The 41-year-old was presented the accolade by The Football League in recognition of his outstanding career in its competitions, which included 19 goals in 64 appearances for The Seasiders.

The award was renamed permanently in honour of Preston North End and England legend Sir Tom Finney following his death in 2014. The Football League is proud to honour his memory by presenting this award to those players who, like Sir Tom before them, set standards for others to aspire to.

“I’m extremely proud and truly privileged to accept this award and I’d like to thank The Football League, which has given me so many fantastic memories during my 20 years as a professional footballer," Phillips said. "It’s all I ever wanted to be, I devoted my life to it and the game has given me so much in return.

 “It’s a bit more special that the award is now so closely associated to Sir Tom Finney – one of the greatest players, gentlemen and role models English football has ever seen. If my career can help inspire a fraction of the people Sir Tom’s did, I’ll count it among my finest achievements.”

Phillips retired as a player at the end of last season after a memorable playing career that saw him score 272 goals in 660 senior appearances. A three-time winner of The Football League Championship, Kevin won promotion to the top-flight on five occasions, including in his final two seasons as a player.

In a career spanning two decades, he played for Watford, Sunderland, Southampton, Aston Villa, West Bromwich Albion, Birmingham City and Crystal Palace, as well as Blackpool.

He also represented England on eight occasions, and in 1999/00 his 30 top-flight goals for the Sunderland saw him become the only Englishman to have won the European Golden Boot. He is a previous winner at the Football League Awards, having been named Championship Player of the Year in 2008.


Advertisement block