Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

League One Ground Guide: Part 6

5 August 2015

Swindon, Walsall & Wigan

This summer’s look at League One grounds concludes ahead of the new campaign with the final three instalments. 

Swindon Town, Walsall and Wigan Athletic are covered, with the latter coming down from The Championship with Blackpool in May.

The County Ground – Swindon Town
In February Blackpool will grace The County Ground for the first time since 2006. Opened in 1896, the stadium would have hosted Championship football this season had it not been for Swindon’s play-off final defeat in May.


Our Last Visit
Blackpool’s last trip to Swindon won’t have lived long in the memory, as the two sides played out a goalless draw in December 2006.

How They Finished
Town's young side impressed in League One last season, but after missing out on automatic promotion, were beaten in the play-off final by Preston North End at Wembley.

Bescot Stadium – Walsall
The Bescot Stadium, also known as the Banks’ Stadium, will open its gates to Blackpool in January 2016. The ground runs alongside the M6 and was opened in 1990. The Seasiders have played just twice there, suffering defeat on both occasions.


Our Last Visit
On New Year’s Eve of 2005 Blackpool were beaten 2-0 by Walsall, with James Constable bagging two second half goals to seal the win.

How They Finished
The Saddlers finished comfortably in mid-table last time out, with Dean Smith’s side amassing 59 points, enough for a 14th place finish.

DW Stadium – Wigan Athletic
Unlike Swindon and Walsall, Wigan are a side Blackpool are familiar with playing against in recent years. The 2013 FA Cup winners dropped from The Championship in May and will host Blackpool at The DW Stadium in December.


Our Last Visit
Pool were beaten 1-0 at The DW Stadium last August, just months after all but securing their Championship status for another season at the same stadium in April 2014.

How They Finished
The Latics finished seven points from safety in May and dropped into League One for the first time since 2003. 

Advertisement block