Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Youth Team Exit Alliance Cup On Penalties

Scunthorpe Progress Following Shoot-Out

23 December 2018

Despite a last-minute Ewan Bange equaliser, Blackpool were knocked out of the Youth Alliance Cup on penalties by Scunthorpe United.

Harry Jessop put the visitors ahead after five minutes. Blackpool then hit the woodwork three times before Ewan Bange poked home Tony Weston’s cross in the dying embers of the game.

It was Blackpool who got the game underway at Myerscough College and the first chance of the game fell to the home side.

Nathan Shaw cut in from the right onto his left foot and crossed towards Ewan Bange who was waiting in the 18-yard box, he got his header away, but the ball went just wide.

Then it was the visitors who got the first goal with their first real attack of the game. A long ball wasn’t dealt with by the Blackpool defence, it fell to Harry Jessop on the edge of the area, who dropped his shoulder and shot past Charlie Monks to give the visitors the lead.

A quiet 15 minutes didn’t produce anything for either team until Blackpool had a real chance. Shaw played a diagonal ball to Sean Graham, he took the ball down on his chest and ran towards goal, his shot was destined for the bottom corner, only for Tom Collins to turn it around the post.

Moments later, the home side had another great chance. Shaw again crossed towards Bange in the area, he headed the ball towards goal which Collins kept out and then on the follow up Graham’s shot was blocked. Scunthorpe then cleared.

With the home side on top, another chance went begging. Bange played a defence splitting pass to Graham, he turned the defender and curled a shot agonisingly wide. 

Just before the break, Sam Maddox played a pass into Bange, who stopped it dead for Andy Kanga to run onto, but he shot way over the bar.

Half-Time: Blackpool 0 Scunthorpe United 1

After the break, Blackpool had a couple of half chances. First, Shaw crossed a free-kick into the area which Scunthorpe cleared. Then, Shaw aimed the ball towards Bange, he couldn’t quite get on the end of the cross and the ball rolled out for a throw-in.

The Seasiders should have then been level. Graham tricked his way past the Scunthorpe defence and found space to shoot, Collins saved but he couldn’t keep hold of the ball, which was begging to be tapped in, but Scunthorpe eventually cleared.

Then, Joey Dawson was allowed into the Blackpool area, he looked to cross towards team-mates but over hit the ball, which was cleared by Blackpool.

Blackpool then hit the woodwork twice. First, Hayden Ravenscroft hit the post from outside of the area and then on the follow up, Bange cannoned his shot off the crossbar.

A minute later, Blackpool hit the woodwork again. This time the hosts won a free-kick just outside which Shaw took, the ball beat the wall and Collins, but it couldn’t beat the crossbar.

After a succession of Blackpool corners, one finally found a Blackpool shirt. Will Avon rose the highest to try and head towards goal, but the ball skimmed off the top of his head and out for a throw-in.

Then came the equaliser. Tony Weston did well to get past the defender and down the left wing, he crossed into the area towards Bange and Kanga, with the latter getting the faintest of touches to flick it into Bange who got in front of his man and poked the ball home.   

Scunthorpe then looked to go and win the game. Louis Collins raced forward with the ball and rocketed a shot towards Charlie Monks’ goal, but Monks produced a great save to send the game to penalties.

Full-Time: Blackpool 1 Scunthorpe United 1


Louis Collins and Nathan Shaw took the first penalties for their sides and both scored.

Levi Gallimore then put Scunthorpe in the lead during the shoot-out. Sean Graham stepped up to level but slipped and put the ball over the bar.

Then Okafor scored next for the visitors, before Tom Collins saved Hayden Ravenscroft’s penalty. 

It was then left to Aiden Train to put the next penalty past Monks and send Scunthorpe into the next round of the competition.

Blackpool: Monks, Williams, Turner, Maddox (Weston), Avon, Liptrott, Shaw, Ravenscroft, Bange, Kanga, Graham

Advertisement block